Legendary Browns linebacker Clay Matthews has been named as one of the 26 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2017.

The next step for Matthews will be to try to get to the list of 15 finalists that will be voted on prior to the Super Bowl. The vote to pare the list from 26 to 15 will occur in January.

Matthews played 19 seasons in the NFL, the first 16 for the Browns. He was voted to the Pro Bowl four times and was named All-Pro three times. He had more than 1400 tackles and 62 sacks while in Cleveland.

Matthews was a semifinalist for the Hall of Fame in 2012 but failed to make it to the final 15.

The other semifinalists for the Class of 2017 are: Kicker Morten Andersen, safety Steve Atwater, offensive tackle Tony Boselli, receiver Isaac Bruce, coach Don Coryell, running back Roger Craig, running back Terrell Davis, safety Brian Dawkins, guard Alan Faneca, offensive lineman Chris Hinton, receiver Torry Holt, offensive tackle Joe Jacoby, running back Edgerrin James, coach Jimmy Johnson, offensive tackle Mike Kenn, cornerback Ty Law, safety John Lynch, center Kevin Mawae, linebacker Karl Mecklenburg, receiver Terrell Owens, defensive end Jason Taylor, running back LaDainian Tomlinson, receiver Hines Ward, quarterback Kurt Warner and safety Darren Woodson.