Rock Hall announces additional 2012 inductees

10:10 AM, Feb 9, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

CLEVELAND -- Exciting news coming from The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. They've announced additional 2012 Inductees.

The Blue Caps, the Comets, the Crickets, the Famous Flames, the Midnighters, and the Miracles will also be inducted at the April 14, 2012 Induction Ceremonies right here in Cleveland, Ohio.

These artists will be included with those artists previously announced:  The Beastie Boys, Donovan, Guns N' Roses, Laura Nyro, Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Small Faces/The Faces, Freddie King, Don Kirshner, Cosimo Matassa, Tom Dowd, and Glyn Johns.

The induction of these six groups is the result of a special Rock and Roll Hall of Fame committee review conducted to identify situations in which groups should be recognized along with the original lead singer inductee.

"These Inductees are pioneers in the development of the music we call rock and roll," said Joel Peresman, president and CEO of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. "As part of our mission to recognize the most impactful, innovative and influential artists in rock, the committee brought forth these six groups that belong in the Hall of Fame."

The frontmen of these six groups have already been enshrined.

The Blue Caps' Gene Vincent was inducted in 1998.  The Comets' Bill Haley was inducted in 1987.  The Crickets' Buddy Holly was inducted in 1986.  The Famous Flames' James Brown was inducted in 1986.  The Midnighters' Hank Ballard was inducted in 1990.   And the Miracles' Smokey Robinson was inducted in 1987.

The 27th annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Saturday, April 14, 2012, in Cleveland and premiere on HBO in May.

The 2012 ceremony will again be open to the public, as it was - for the first time in the event's history - at the 2009 Inductions in Cleveland.


Most Watched Videos