Death penalty: Which states have it, which don't?

SEATTLE -- Washington Gov. Jay Inslee announced Tuesday a moratorium on the death penalty in his state, saying the suspension of capital punishment will be in place for as long as he is governor.

STATES WITH THE DEATH PENALTY: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wyoming.

STATES THAT HAVE ABOLISHED THE DEATH PENALTY: Alaska, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia and Wisconsin.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment