55 schools face sex assault investigation; 3 in Ohio

WASHINGTON -- The Education Department has taken the unprecedented step of releasing the names of the 55 colleges and universities currently facing a Title IX sexual abuse investigation.

The release comes two days after a White House task force promised greater government transparency on sexual assault in higher education.

Among the schools are: Ohio State University, Denison University, and Wittenberg University, all in Ohio; Catholic University of America in D.C.; Florida State University; Harvard College; Harvard University-Law School; Michigan State University; University of Michigan-Ann Arbor; Princeton University; Swarthmore College; and Dartmouth College.

The agency previously would confirm such an investigation when asked, but students and others were often unaware of them.

Read the list

Title IX prohibits gender discrimination at schools that receive federal funds. It is the same law that guarantees girls equal access to sports, but it also regulates institutions' handling of sexual violence and increasingly is being used by victims who say their school failed to protect them.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment