Cleveland Indians announce 2017 schedule, home opener slated for April 11

CLEVELAND -- The Cleveland Indians may be in the thick of a postseason chase in 2016, but Major League Baseball announced their 2017 schedule on Wednesday.

After starting the 2017 season with back-to-back three-game sets at the Texas Rangers and Arizona Diamondbacks, the Indians return to Progressive Field for their home opener against the Chicago White Sox on Tuesday, April 11.

The opener against the White Sox will start a string of 13 straight April games against American League Central Division foes, as they follow the Chicago series with three contests against the Detroit Tigers before heading to Minnesota for a four-game set with the Twins and three games against the White Sox at Guaranteed Rate Field.

In 2017, the Indians will play six summer weekend series at Progressive Field, starting against the White Sox (June 9-11) and continuing against the Twins (June 23-25). Then, the Indians host the Tigers (July 7-9) and Toronto Blue Jays (July 21-23) surrounding the All-Star Game break.

Also, the Indians will host weekend series against the New York Yankees (Aug. 3-6) and Kansas City Royals (Aug. 25-27).

In interleague play, the Indians will host the Cincinnati Reds (May 24-25), Los Angeles Dodgers (June 13-15), San Diego Padres (July 4-6) and Colorado Rockies (Aug. 8-9) with trips to Arizona (April 7-9), Colorado (June 6-7) and San Francisco Giants (July 17-19) also on the schedule.

The Indians will have more road than home games in April, May and August, and more games at Progressive Field in June and September/October. They play 12 games at and away from Progressive Field in July.

The Indians will have three 10-game road trips and one 10-game homestand during the 2017 season.

The Indians will play 16 of their final 22 games of the 2017 season at Progressive Field, with a west-coast trip to face the Los Angeles Angels and Seattle Mariners slated for late September ahead of back-to-back A.L. Central series against Minnesota and Chicago to close out the regular season.

The Indians’ final 13 home games of the season will be against A.L. Central Division opponents.

Click here for a look at the 2017 Indians schedule.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment