Indians manager Terry Francona was chosen as American League Manager of the Year award Tuesday evening by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

The three finalists for the BBWAA's four awards were announced on MLB Network.

Francona, in his first year as Indians manager, led them to the franchise's first postseason appearance since 2007 as they won the AL's top wild-card spot.

The Indians, under Francona, showed a 24-game improvement, going from 68 victories in 2012 to 92 this year.

This is the first time he has won the award, despite winning two World Series championships.