Cleveland Indians great Jim Thome selected for induction into National Baseball Hall of Fame

Cleveland Indians great Jim Thome has been selected for induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

CLEVELAND -- Former Cleveland Indians infielder/designated hitter Jim Thome was a first-ballot selection for induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame, Major League Baseball announced on the MLB Network Wednesday night.

Thome, who was named on 89.8 percent of the 422 ballots cast, is the first Indians player to earn induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame since pioneering outfielder Larry Doby was selected in 1998.

Loading ...

Over 13 seasons with the Indians, Thome was the most prolific power hitter in team history.

A three-time American League All-Star, Thome belted 337 home runs and drew 1,008 walks, both of which are franchise records. Additionally, Thome is second in Indians history with 937 RBI and third in on-base (.414), slugging (.592) and on-base-plus-slugging percentages (.980), as well as 10th with 263 doubles.

Thome led the American League in walks three times in his Indians career, and hit 20 or more home runs in each of his last nine full seasons with the Tribe (1994-2002), including a personal best, and team-record, 52 round-trippers in 2002.

Cleveland Indians DH Jim Thome waves to the crowd during his first at-bat against the Minnesota Twins at Progressive Field on September 23, 2011.
Jason Miller

During his 22-year MLB career, Thome collected 2,328 hits in 8,422 at-bats (.276 batting average) with 451 doubles, 26 doubles and 612 home runs. Thome had 1,699 RBI, scored 1,583 runs, earned 1,747 bases on balls and drew 173 intentional walks.

Also, Thome had .402 on-base, .554 slugging and .956 on-base-plus-slugging percentages over a career that spanned parts of three decades and included 2,543 games played.

Over 71 postseason games, Thome belted 17 home runs, had 37 RBI, scored 35 runs and drew 30 walks.

Cleveland Indians infielder Jim Thome pumps his fist while running the bases after hitting his fifth-inning home run against the Florida Marlins during Game 3 of the 1997 World Series at Jacobs Field.

A one-time Silver Slugger (1996), Roberto Clemente Award winner (2002) and three-time American League Player of the Week with the Indians, Thome is eighth in home runs, seventh in walks and fifth in at-bats per home run (13.8) in MLB history.

Along with the Indians (1991-2002, 2011), Thome played for the Philadelphia Phillies (2003-2005, 2012), Chicago White Sox (2006-2009), Los Angeles Dodgers (2009), Minnesota Twins (2010-2011) and Baltimore Orioles (2012).

Loading ...

Thome is the 13th member of the Indians to earn selection into the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Thome joins center fielders Earl Averill (1975), Doby (1998) and Tris Speaker (1937), right fielder Elmer Frick (1963), shortstops Lou Boudreau (1970) and Joe Sewell (1977), second baseman Napoleon Lajoie (1937) and pitchers Bob Lemon (1976), Early Wynn (1972), Addie Joss (1978), Bob Feller (1962) and Stan Coveleski (1969) as members of the Indians organization enshrined in Cooperstown.

Additionally, pitcher Cy Young (1937) and left fielder Jesse Burkett (1946) are enshrined as members of the Cleveland Spiders, who were the predecessors to the Indians.

Cleveland Indians first baseman Jim Thome hits a two-run home run off of Minnesota Twins pitcher Eric Milton during the second inning of a game at Jacobs Field on September 28, 2000.

Along with Thome, closer Trevor Hoffman (Florida Marlins/San Diego Padres/Milwaukee Brewers), outfielder Vladimir Guerrero (Montreal Expos/Los Angeles Angels/Texas Rangers/Orioles) and third baseman Chipper Jones (Atlanta Braves) were selected for induction to the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

It was the only the fourth time in history, along with 1947, 1955 and 2015, that the Baseball Writers Association of America elected four players for induction.

The Class of 2018, which includes a pair of veteran selections in pitcher Jack Morris and shortstop Alan Trammell, will be inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York, on Sunday, July 29, 2018.