Marcus Davenport, Ade Aruna stand out among defensive linemen at 2018 NFL Scouting Combine

Marcus Davenport and Ade Aruna stood out among the defensive linemen during the 2018 NFL Scouting Combine at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis Sunday.

In today’s NFL, defensive linemen are far more than players who clear gaps in opposing offensive lines for linebackers and blitzing safeties to come through and pressure quarterbacks or stop running backs behind the line of scrimmage.

Defensive linemen are agile athletes with the ability to cause havoc on their own, rather than just helping their teammates make plays, and several players put those skills on display during basic and position-specific drills at the 2018 NFL Scouting Combine in Indianapolis Sunday.

Loading ...

Here is a look back at the top-performing defensive linemen at the 2018 NFL Scouting Combine:

40-Yard Dash

1. Marcus Davenport (Texas-San Antonio) 4.58 seconds

2. Ade Aruna (Tulane) 4.60 seconds

3. Bradley Chubb (NC State) 4.65 seconds

4. Rasheem Green (USC) 4.73 seconds

5. John Franklin-Myers (Stephen F. Austin) 4.75 seconds

6. Jalyn Holmes (Ohio State) 4.82 seconds

DNP-Sam Hubbard (Ohio State)

Bench Press

1. Harrison Phillips (Stanford) 42 repetitions

2. Vita Vea (Washington) 41 repetitions

T3. Deadrin Senat (South Florida) 35 repetitions

T3. B.J. Hill (NC State) 35 repetitions

5. Foley Fatukasi (Connecticut) 33 repetitions

T19. Jalyn Holmes (Ohio State) 25 repetitions

DNP-Sam Hubbard (Ohio State)

Vertical Jump

1. Ade Aruna (Tulane) 38.5 inches

2. Bradley Chubb (NC State) 36.0 inches

3. James Looney (California) 35.5 inches

T4. Sam Hubbard (Ohio State) 35.0 inches

T4. Taven Bryan (Florida) 35.0 inches

T11. Jalyn Holmes (Ohio State) 32.0 inches

Broad Jump

1. Ade Aruna (Tulane) 128.0 inches

2. Marcus Davenport (Texas-San Antonio) 124.0 inches

3. Bradley Chubb (NC State) 121.0 inches

4. Taven Bryan (Florida) 119.0 inches

5. Rasheem Green (USC) 118.0 inches

T6. Sam Hubbard (Ohio State) 116.0 inches

DNP-Jalyn Holmes (Ohio State)

Three-Cone Drill

1. Sam Hubbard (Ohio State) 6.84 seconds

2. Taven Bryan (Florida) 7.12 seconds

3. Marcus Davenport (Texas-San Antonio) 7.20 seconds

4. Rasheem Green (USC) 7.24 seconds

5. B.J. Hill (NC State) 7.28 seconds

DNP-Jalyn Holmes (Ohio State)

Twenty-Yard Shuttle Run

1. Sam Hubbard (Ohio State) 4.32 seconds

Loading ...

2. James Looney (California) 4.37 seconds

3. Rasheem Green (USC) 4.39 seconds

T4. Bradley Chubb (NC State) 4.41 seconds

T4. Marcus Davenport (Texas-San Antonio) 4.41 seconds

Times and Numbers were reported by