Breaking News
More () »

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame reopens today after coronavirus closure: Masks now required

Who’s ready to rock?!?!?!

CLEVELAND — Cleveland’s iconic Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is reopening to the public for the first time in months on June 15. 

Their restart comes with the following list of safety precautions amid the coronavirus pandemic:

  • Staff and guests required to wear masks indoors.
  • Limited capacity with timed ticketing.
  • Fans to maintain a safe social distance -- at least two Stratocasters apart.
  • Temperature checks prior to entry.
  • Hand sanitizing stations throughout the museum.
  • Credit card and mobile payment only with plexiglass shields at checkout.
  • CLEan committed including daily continuous cleaning.
  • Advance online ticketing purchase at rockhall.com.

RELATED: List: Everything that's allowed to reopen in Ohio throughout June

“We have created a one-way path throughout the museum so you can socially distance and be safe,” says Mandy Smith, Director of Education at the Rock Hall. “We have a new team of student nurses who will be here taking your temperature and asking you a few questions before you come in.”

The Rock Hall also has new hours of operation:

  • Open daily 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Early access available at 10 a.m. for teachers (Mondays), vulnerable fans (Tuesdays), Rock Hall Members (Saturdays) and healthcare workers (Sundays)

Live music on the plaza resumes in July on Thursday and Saturday evenings from 5-7 p.m. The Play It Loud: Instruments of Rock & Roll exhibit has also been extended through December 2020.

“People have been really missing their rock and roll for the last three months,” Smith tells 3News. “I know I haven’t been to a show in three months. So if you, like me, are missing your rock and roll and you need that meaningful, fun experience in your life, come on down.”

The 2020 induction ceremony, which was postponed from its original May 2 date, is now scheduled to take place Nov. 7 at Cleveland's Public Hall. This year's class of inductees includes Depeche Mode, The Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, Nine Inch Nails, The Notorious B.I.G., T-Rex, Irving Azoff and Jon Landau. You can read in-depth bios of each inductee -- and see who was snubbed -- HERE (video below is from the day the 2020 class was unveiled on Jan. 15):


Before You Leave, Check This Out