The Northeast Ohio Areawide Coordinating Agency has issued an air quality advisory for several Northeast Ohio counties through Wednesday.

Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Summit Counties are under the alert. Air levels have been deemed "unhealthy for sensitive groups" such as children, the elderly, and those with breathing difficulties during this period.

These groups and others are asked to watch their outdoor activity levels and be on guard for symptoms such as coughing or shortness of breath. In addition, these steps can be taken to reduce air pollution:

  • Drive less: Bike, walk, use transmit, work from home or combine trips
  • Visit – Find a smarter way to travel!
  • Don't idle - Turn off your engine
  • Refill your tank after sunset
  • Wait to mow