Breaking News
More () »

All northwest Ohio counties move to 'high' transmission rate of COVID-19, per CDC

Only 2 counties in Ohio remain classified as substantial community transmission by the CDC.

TOLEDO, Ohio — EDITOR'S NOTE: The attached video originally aired on August 16, 2021.

As the highly transmittable Delta variant of COVID-19 continues to surge, nearly all of Ohio’s counties, including all in northwest Ohio, are now experiencing "high" levels of community transmission according to the CDC.

Only 2 of the 88 counties in the state remain at the "substantial" level.

Hancock County was elevated to the high designation on Tuesday.

Credit: CDC
Average community transmission levels from Aug. 9-16, 2021.

Lucas County moved from substantial to high over the weekend, as did Putnam, Wood, Seneca and Wyandot counties.

RELATED: Lucas County issues indoor mask advisory regardless of vaccination status

Monroe and Lenawee counties in Michigan are also experiencing high transmission rates.

The CDC defines high transmission as more than 100 total new cases per 100,000 people in the past seven days or over 10% of tests (NAATs) showing positive results during the past 7 days.

The CDC recommends the wearing of masks indoors, for areas with substantial or high transmission rates.

RELATED: Yes, there’s a rise in child COVID-19 cases but it’s not yet known if the delta variant is more dangerous for kids

Here is where counties in our area stand as of August 17, 2021:


  • Lucas
  • Wood
  • Henry
  • Hancock
  • Huron
  • Lenawee
  • Monroe
  • Ottawa
  • Sandusky
  • Wyandot
  • Defiance
  • Erie
  • Fulton
  • Paulding
  • Williams

Source: CDC COVID Data Tracker.

Across the United States, over 91.23% of counties are at a high level; a change of 12.28% over the past 7 days.

RELATED: Should you wear a mask indoors where you live? Check this map