Breaking News
More () »

Ohio's travel advisory list now at nine states

Those coming to Ohio from Alabama, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, Nevada, South Dakota, Utah, and Wisconsin should self-quarantine for 14 days.

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Earlier this summer, Governor Mike DeWine announced a travel advisory for people coming into Ohio from other states with testing rates of 15% or higher for COVID-19.

The recommendation is that people self-quarantine for 14 days after coming to Ohio from one of those states. The list is being updated weekly.

As of October 28, states at 15% or higher are 

  • Alabama
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin

In addition, the Ohio Department of Health notes that both Mississippi and Wyoming have 'incomplete data, but positivity likely high.'

DeWine says people should self-quarantine at home in or a hotel. This applies to visitors as well as people who live in Ohio returning from vacation or business travel. The governor has said that that while the advisory isn't an order, it's recommended that it be followed. 

Meanwhile, the state of New York is now requiring travelers from non-neighboring states to get a coronavirus test before, and potentially after, they arrive in the state.

New York for months had attempted to maintain a list of states with high COVID-19 infection rates, where travelers from those states would be required to quarantine 14 days upon arrival. It is now scrapping that effort.

Instead, Gov. Andrew Cuomo said Saturday travelers from all non-neighboring states must test negative for COVID-19 no more than three days before they enter New York.

Individuals arriving without proof of a negative test won't be stopped from entering the state, but will be required to quarantine for 14 days.

Individuals who tested negative will still have to quarantine for three days after they arrive and then take a second test. If that’s negative, they can stop quarantining.

Travelers who decide not to get tested will be required to quarantine for 14 days, the governor said.


Before You Leave, Check This Out