Breaking News
More () »

Cleveland's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Cleveland, Oh | WKYC.com

Ohio's travel advisory list remains at four states

People are advised to self-quarantine for 14 days after coming to Ohio from Alabama, Idaho, Mississippi, and South Dakota.
Credit: Ohio Department of Health

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Earlier this summer, Governor Mike DeWine announced a travel advisory for people coming into Ohio from other states with testing rates of 15% or higher for COVID-19.

The recommendation is that people self-quarantine for 14 days after coming to Ohio from one of those states. The list is being updated weekly.

As of Wednesday, September 16, states at 15% or higher are 

  • Alabama 
  • Idaho
  • Mississippi
  • South Dakota 

Kansas and North Dakota are no longer on the travel advisory list, while Idaho and Mississippi are back on it.

DeWine says people should self-quarantine at home in or a hotel. This applies to visitors as well as people who live in Ohio returning from vacation or business travel. The governor has said that that while the advisory isn't an order, it's recommended that it be followed. 

Also this week, Ohio has been removed from the travel advisory list of the state of New York.