Breaking News
More () »

Cuyahoga County Executive-Elect Chris Ronayne announces transition team

“My goal is to step into office on day one ready to lead so we can deliver the government that the people of Cuyahoga County deserve."

CLEVELAND — Two days after defeating Republican challenger Republican Lee Weingart in an election to replace Armond Budish as the County Executive for Cuyahoga County, Chris Ronayne has announced his transition team.

“My goal is to step into office on day one ready to lead so we can deliver the government that the people of Cuyahoga County deserve,” said Ronayne, who will take office in January.

Consisting of a committee of civic leaders and policy experts, Ronayne's team will include four co-directors, who will "oversee the day-to-day efforts of the transition process and will staff the Transition Committee."  Zoë Toscos and Laura Roche will also serve on Ronayne's staff during the transition.

Per a release, the four co-directors include:

  • David Razum: served as Campaign Manager for Ronayne’s election efforts and previously served as Director of Communications at University Circle Inc.
  • Sabrina Roberts: currently serves as Interim Assistant Director of Cuyahoga County Health and Human Services and previously served as the Administrator of Health Policy & Programs.
  • Katrice Williams: currently serves as Senior Criminal Justice Fellow at The Cleveland Foundation, and previously served as Program Officer for the Cuyahoga County Office of Reentry and in policy positions with the Cleveland NAACP and ACLU of Ohio.
  • Eric Wobser: currently serves as City Manager for the City of Sandusky and previously served as Executive Director of Ohio City Incorporated and Manager of the City of Cleveland’s Office of Capital Budgeting. Wobser will leave his position as City Manager to join Ronayne’s administration as Chief of Staff.

Meanwhile, the transition committee will "focus on high priority strategic issues that demand immediate attention and will identify candidates for Ronayne’s administration." That team includes:

  • Bishara Addison, Director of Job Preparation, The Fund for our Economic Future
  • Marquez Brown, Cleveland Regional Director, AFSCME Ohio Council 8
  • Freddy Collier, Sr., Vice President of Strategy & New Initiatives, Greater Cleveland Partnership
  • John Corlett, President & Executive Director, The Center for Community Solutions
  • Lovell Custard, President & CEO, Murtis Taylor Human Services System
  • Andy Gonzalez, Chief of Police, Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority
  • Samara Knight, Executive Vice President, Director of Civic Engagement & Community Outreach, SEIU District 1199
  • Jazmin Long, CEO, Birthing Beautiful Communities
  • Nancy Mendez, President & CEO, Starting Point
  • Randy Myeroff, Non-Executive Chairman, Cohen & Company
  • Jan Roller, Of Counsel, Perez Morris
  • Victor Ruiz, Executive Director, Esperanza Inc.
  • Reverend Hilton O. Smith, Associate Minister, Greater Abyssinia Baptist Church
  • Dr. Jerry Sue Thornton, President (retired), Cuyahoga Community College
  • Doug Wang, Senior Vice President (retired), Northern Trust Bank

Before You Leave, Check This Out