COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — Gov. Mike DeWine has declared a state of emergency in 63 Ohio counties where severe weather caused serious highway damage last month.

The 63 counties covered by the emergency declaration have had weather-related damage to roads and/or bridges after mild temperatures and significant rains in June saturated the ground. Some roads still have lane restrictions or are closed completely.

The Republican governor said in a statement Monday that the emergency proclamation allow the Ohio Department of Transportation and local governments in the 63 counties to access federal emergency relief funds to help fix the damage.

Northeast Ohio counties listed in the declaration include:

  • Ashland
  • Ashtabula
  • Carroll
  • Cuyahoha
  • Erie
  • Geauga
  • Holmes
  • Huron
  • Lake
  • Lorain
  • Medina
  • Portage
  • Richland
  • Stark
  • Summit
  • Trumbull
  • Tuscarawas
  • Wayne