Breaking News
More () »

Ohio's travel advisory list increases to eight states

Those coming to Ohio from Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Nevada, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Wyoming should self-quarantine for 14 days.

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Earlier this summer, Governor Mike DeWine announced a travel advisory for people coming into Ohio from other states with testing rates of 15% or higher for COVID-19.

The recommendation is that people self-quarantine for 14 days after coming to Ohio from one of those states. The list is being updated weekly.

As of October 14, states at 15% or higher are 

  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Nevada
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

DeWine says people should self-quarantine at home in or a hotel. This applies to visitors as well as people who live in Ohio returning from vacation or business travel. The governor has said that that while the advisory isn't an order, it's recommended that it be followed. 

Meanwhile, Ohio is now on the travel advisory list for the state of New York. Ohio has passed the threshold of having 10 cases per 100,000 people. All travelers coming into New York from states on the list are required to quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of their last contact.


Before You Leave, Check This Out