Breaking News
More () »

Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine announces seven states on travel advisory list

The advisory applies to those arriving from states with positivity rates at 15 percent or higher.

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Last week, Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine announced an advisory recommending that those arriving from high-risk states self-quarantine for 14 days. The advisory applies to states that currently possess a coronavirus positivity testing rate of at least 15 percent and individuals both visiting from other states and Ohioans who have traveled and are coming back home.

As of July 29, states at 15% or higher are Mississippi, Arizona, Florida, Alabama, Idaho, Kansas, and South Carolina.

DeWine said people should self-quarantine at home in or a hotel. This applies to visitors as well as people who live in Ohio returning from vacation or business travel.

Last week's advisory applied to nine states -- Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, South Carolina and Texas. DeWine had said Puerto Rico was on the list, but his office clarified after that he said that in error.

DeWine said last week that that while the advisory isn't an order, it's recommended that it be followed.