Breaking News
More () »

Medina quarterback Drew Allar honored as Ohio's Mr. Football for 2021

The Penn State commit threw for 4,444 yards and 48 touchdowns in leading the Battling Bees to a 13-1 record and a Greater Cleveland Conference title.

MEDINA, Ohio — Medina quarterback Drew Allar has been honored as Ohio's Mr. Football, the award given to the state's top high school football player.

Allar, who has committed to play college football at Penn State University, led the Battling Bees a 13-1 record and a berth in the Division 1, Region 1 finals. He completed just under 60% of his passes (305-for-599) for 4,444 yards and 48 touchdowns, with only seven interceptions. He also rushed for 328 yards and 9 TDs. 

The Bees' 13 wins broke a school record for most victories in a season. The previous record of 10 had stood since 1922-23. Medina also won the Greater Cleveland Conference Championship in 2021, their first league title of any kind since 1973.

The award will be presented to Allar on Thursday afternoon at 1:30 p.m. at Medina High School. 3News will stream the event and you can watch it live in this story.

Springfield quarterback Te'Sean Smoot finished as the runner-up for the 35th Mr. Football award, while Upper Arlington running back Carson Gresock came in third. Other finalists were Marysville linebacker Gabe Powers, St. Clairsville offensive lineman Avery Henry, West Lafayette Ridgewood quarterback Gabe Tingle, Archbold quarterback D.J. Newman, Mount Orab Western Brown quarterback Drew Novack and LaGrange Keystone running back/linebacker Gideon Lampron.

The five-star recruit rated as the top high school quarterback in the nation, Allar plans to finish classes at Medina this month and start attending Penn State in January, to enable him to take part in spring football practice. He carries a 3.5 grade-point average and is undecided on his college major. 

Past winners of Ohio's Mr. Football award include Euclid's Robert Smith (1988, '89), Charles Woodson from Fremont Ross (1994), Maurice Clarett of Warren Harding (2001), Mentor's Mitch Trubisky (2012), and Joe Burrow of The Plains Athens (2014).

You can watch Drew Allar receive the Mr. Football award in the player below:

Related Stories:

Paid Advertisement