Breaking News
More () »

Olmsted Falls wins first-ever OHSAA boys lacrosse state championship

The Bulldogs took down defending champ Columbus St. Francis DeSales 13-9 in Saturday's Division II title game.

COLUMBUS, Ohio — It was a season of utter dominance, and it ended with Olmsted Falls asserting its place on the Ohio boys lacrosse stage.

The Bulldogs took down defending champion Columbus St. Francis DeSales 13-9 on Saturday to win the OHSAA Division II state title. It's the first-ever crown for the program, and the first for the school in any team sport since 2008.

SUBSCRIBE: Get the day's top local and national headlines sent to your email inbox each weekday morning with our free 3News to GO! newsletter

After dropping its first game of the year, O Falls won its final 21, including six in the state tournament. All of their victories came by at least four goals except for the Region 5 finals, a thrilling 5-4 overtime triumph over St. John's Jesuit.

The Bulldogs dispatched University 11-5 in the state semis before battling the Stallions at Historic Crew Stadium in Columbus, where D-II Midfielder of the Year Michael Candow led the way with five goals and an assist. Rocco Conti, Fusco Dominic, Gavin Moore, and Alec Ignazio also scored two apiece.

Olmsted Falls had quite the sports weekend, as a little up the road at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium, senior distance runner Katie Clute also won state track titles in the girls 1,600 and 3,200 meter events.

Want to be among the first to know the most important local and national news? You can download the free WKYC app and get the latest updates right on your phone: Android, Apple.

Before You Leave, Check This Out