Breaking News
More () »

Cleveland's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Cleveland, Oh | WKYC.com

Cleveland Indians announce Wild Card Series roster; add OF Bradley Zimmer

The Cleveland Indians have announced their roster for their Wild Card Series against the New York Yankees in the 2020 MLB Playoffs.

CLEVELAND — Hours ahead of their 2020 MLB Playoffs opener, the Cleveland Indians announced their 28-man roster for their best-of-three Wild Card Division Series against the New York Yankees.

RELATED: More Cleveland Indians coverage from WKYC

The Indians' postseason roster should look familiar to many, with the team largely carrying the same set of players it last did in the regular season with the exception of one change; outfielder Bradley Zimmer has been added to Cleveland's 28-man roster, while pitcher Adam Plutko sent to the 12-player Taxi Squad.

As a result, the Indians' 28-man roster vs. the Yankees this week will be as follows:


  • Shane Bieber
  • Carlos Carrasco
  • Adam Cimber
  • Aaron Civale
  • Brad Hand
  • Cam Hill
  • James Karinchak
  • Phil Maton
  • Triston McKenzie
  • Oliver Perez
  • Zach Plesac
  • Cal Quantrill
  • Nick Wittgren


  • Austin Hedges
  • Sandy Leon
  • Roberto Perez


  • Mike Freeman
  • Cesar Hernandez
  • Francisco Lindor
  • Jose Ramirez
  • Carlos Santana


  • Delino DeShields
  • Jordan Luplow
  • Oscar Mercado
  • Tyler Naquin
  • Josh Naylor
  • Franmil Reyes
  • Bradley Zimmer

Meanwhile, the Indians' taxi squad, which will be allowed to stay inside the MLB "bubble" should Clevland advance to next week's American League Division Series will consist of the following 12 players:

  • LHP Logan Allen
  • LHP Sam Hentges
  • RHP Dominic Leone
  • LHP Scott Moss
  • LHP Kyle Nelson
  • RHP Adam Plutko
  • 1B/OF Jake Bauers
  • INF Yu Chang
  • INF Ernie Clement
  • OF Daniel Johnson
  • OF Domingo Santana
  • C Beau Taylor

As a part of this year's expanded postseason, the first round of the playoffs will consist of four best-of-three Wild Card Series' in each league, with all games being played at the higher seed's home ballpark. The winners will then advance to the traditional postseason Division Series and the MLB's "bubble," which will consist of the following locations:

  • America League Division Series: San Diego, California, and Los Angeles, California
  • National League Division Series: Arlington, Texas and Houston, Texas
  • American League Championship Series: San Diego, California
  • National League Championship Series: Arlington, Texas
  • World Series: Arlington, Texas