Breaking News
More () »

Cleveland's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Cleveland, Oh | WKYC.com

Devonta Smith wins 2020 Heisman trophy, Trevor Lawrence finishes 2nd

Smith is the first wide receiver to win the award since Desmond Howard won it in 1991.
Credit: AP

NEW YORK — For the first time in 29 years, a Wide Receiver has won college football's most prestigious award.

On Tuesday night, Alabama WR Devonta Smith won the 2020 Heisman Trophy, edging out his teammate Mac Jones, Florida Quarterback Kyle Trask, and Clemson QB Trevor Lawrence. 

In 2020, Smith was unstoppable as he hauled in 105 catches for 1641 yards and 20 touchdown receptions. 

This is the first time that a wide receiver has won the award since Desmond Howard won it back in 1991. It is also the first time since 2015 that a non-QB has won the award. 

Lawrence finished second with 222 first place votes, Jones finished third, and Trask rounded out the top-four finalist. 

Smith and the Crimson Tide take on Ohio State in the National Championship Monday night. 

Former Gamecock running back and USC legend George Rogers remains the only player who went to a college or university in South Carolina to win a Heisman Trophy.