Breaking News
More () »

Cleveland Browns announce 11 members of 2021 practice squad

The Cleveland Browns have announced 11 additions to their 16-man practice squad.

CLEVELAND — After cutting down their roster to 53 players on Tuesday, the Cleveland Browns are welcoming back some familiar faces.

RELATED: More Cleveland Browns coverage from WKYC

On Wednesday, the Browns announced the first 11 signings of their 16-player practice squad, with 10 of the players signed being players who Cleveland released on Tuesday. The 11 players signed to the Browns practice squad on Wednesday are:

  1. WR Ja’Marcus Bradley
  2. DT Sheldon Day
  3. TE Jordan Franks
  4. DE Porter Gustin
  5. RB John Kelly
  6. LB Elijah Lee
  7. S Jovante Moffatt
  8. QB Nick Mullens
  9. WR JoJo Natson
  10. FB Johnny Stanton
  11. DE Curtis Weaver

Of the 11 players signed to Cleveland's practice squad, all but Mullens spent training camp with the Browns before being released ahead of Tuesday's deadline for teams to trim their rosters down to 53 players ahead of the start of the 2021 season. Entering his fourth season in the NFL, Mullens spent this past offseason as a member of the Philadelphia Eagles before being waived.

Prior to his short stint in Philadelphia, Mullens spent three seasons with the San Francisco 49ers, appearing in 19 games, including 16 starts. In 2020, the Southern Miss product appeared in 10 games, including eight starts, for the 49ers, completing 64.7 percent of his passes for 2,437 yards, 12 touchdowns and 12 interceptions.

Per NFL rules, members are the practice squad are eligible to practice with their teams but must be signed to the active roster in order to appear in any games. Practice squad players are also eligible to be signed to any other team in the league's active roster.