Breaking News
More () »

Cleveland's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Cleveland, Oh | WKYC.com

Cleveland Browns' Myles Garrett, Jack Conklin named first-team All-Pros by the AP

Guards Joel Bitonio and Wyatt Teller made the second team.

CLEVELAND — The Browns are enjoying their best season in 26 years, and the national media is recognizing them for it.

The Associated Press on Friday named defensive end Myles Garrett and right tackle Jack Conklin to the first team of its prestigious All-Pro roster. In addition, guards Joel Bitonio and Wyatt Teller made the second team.

The honor was expected for Garrett, who despite missing two games with COVID-19 established himself as one of he NFL's best pass rushers. Previously a second-team All-Pro in 2018, the 25-year-old tallied 12 sacks and 10 tackles for loss this year, and becomes the first Cleveland defensive end to be a first-teamer since Lyle Alzado in 1980.

Credit: AP
Cleveland Browns defensive end Myles Garrett (95) rushes the passer during an NFL football game against the Indianapolis Colts, Sunday, Oct. 11, 2020, in Cleveland. The Browns won 32-23. (AP Photo/David Richard)

RELATED: Browns' Myles Garrett, Nick Chubb and Joel Bitonio named to 2021 Pro Bowl team

This is Conklin's second first-team selection, having previously gotten the nod as a rookie in 2016 with the Tennessee Titans. The 26-year-old came to the Browns as a free agent in the offseason and delivered stellar results, bringing stability to an offensive line that was one of the league's shakiest only a year ago.

Credit: Kirk Irwin/AP
FILE - Cleveland Browns offensive tackle Jack Conklin (78) looks to make a block during an NFL football game against the Las Vegas Raiders in Cleveland, in this Sunday, Nov. 1, 2020, file photo.

Bitonio--the longest-tenured Cleveland player--makes the second team for the third straight year, while Teller earns the honor for the first time and likely could've been on the first team had he not missed five games with various injuries. They both helped Conklin anchor the O-line, but sadly, Bitonio will not participate in this Sunday's playoff game in Pittsburgh after testing positive for COVID-19.

RELATED: Browns finally practicing for playoffs after COVID-19 delays

RELATED: Pittsburgh Steelers won't allow fans for Wild Card game vs. Browns

RELATED: Kelly Holcomb reflects on Browns' last playoff game with Jim Donovan

The AP All-Pro team is selected by a group of 50 media members from across the country. Check out the full roster for 2020:



Quarterback — Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay

Running Back — Derrick Henry, Tennessee

Tight End — Travis Kelce, Kansas City (unanimous)

Wide Receivers — Davante Adams, Green Bay; Stefon Diggs, Buffalo; Tyreek Hill, Kansas City

Left Tackle — David Bakhtiari, Green Bay

Right Tackle — Jack Conklin, Cleveland

Left Guard — Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis

Right Guard — Brandon Scherff, Washington

Center — Corey Linsley, Green Bay


Edge Rushers — T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh; Myles Garrett, Cleveland

Interior Linemen — Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams (unanimous); DeForest Buckner, Indianapolis

Linebackers — Fred Warner, San Francisco; Bobby Wagner, Seattle; Darius Leonard, Indianapolis

Cornerbacks — Xavien Howard, Miami; Jalen Ramsey, Los Angeles Rams

Safeties — Tyrann Mathieu, Kansas City; Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh and Budda Baker, Arizona (tie)


Placekicker — Jason Sanders, Miami

Punter — Jake Bailey, New England

Kick Returner — Cordarrelle Patterson, Chicago

Punt Returner — Gunner Olszewski, New England

Special Teamer — George Odum, Indianapolis

Long Snapper — Morgan Cox, Baltimore



Quarterback — Josh Allen, Buffalo, and Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City (tie)

Running Back —Alvin Kamara, New Orleans

Tight End — Vacant

Wide Receivers — DeAndre Hopkins, Arizona; Justin Jefferson, Minnesota; Calvin Ridley, Atlanta, DK Metcalf, Seattle, and Cole Beasley, Buffalo (tie)

Left Tackle — Garett Bolles, Denver

Right Tackle — Ryan Ramczyk, New Orleans

Left Guard — Joel Bitonio, Cleveland

Right Guard — Wyatt Teller, Cleveland

Center — Ryan Kelly, Indianapolis, and Frank Ragnow, Detroit


Edge Rushers — Khalil Mack, Chicago; Za’Darius Smith, Green Bay

Interior Linemen — Chris Jones, Kansas City; Cam Heyward, Pittsburgh

Linebackers — Devin White, Tampa Bay; Demario Davis, New Orleans; Lavonte David, Tampa Bay, and Roquan Smith, Chicago (tie)

Cornerbacks — Jaire Alexander, Green Bay; Tre’Davious White, Buffalo

Safeties — Jamal Adams, Seattle; Jessie Bates III, Cincinnati


Placekicker — Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Punter — Jack Fox, Detroit

Kick Returner — Andre Roberts, Buffalo

Punt Returner — Jakeem Grant, Miami

Special Teamer — Matthew Slater, New England

Long Snapper — Luke Rhodes, Indianapolis