Breaking News
More () »

Cleveland Browns DE Myles Garrett named Pro Athlete of the Year at Greater Cleveland Sports Awards

Cleveland Browns defensive end Myles Garrett was named the Pro Athlete of the Year at the Greater Cleveland Sports Awards on Wednesday.

CLEVELAND — Editor's note: the video in the player above is from a previous story.

While the Cleveland Browns' 2022 season was a disappointing one, Myles Garrett turned in a career year. On Wednesday, Garrett's individual efforts were recognized as the Cleveland Browns defensive end was named the Professional Athlete of the Year, presented by Bally Sports Ohio, at the 2022 Greater Cleveland Sports Awards.

RELATED: More Cleveland Browns coverage from WKYC

A two-time first-team All-Pro selection, Garrett edged out Cleveland Cavaliers All-Star point guard Darius Garland and Cleveland Guardians All-Star third baseman Jose Ramirez for this year's honors. Appearing in 17 games, the No. 1 pick of the 2017 NFL Draft set a Browns franchise single-season record with 16 sacks, while being selected to his third career Pro Bowl and second consecutive All-Pro first team.

In being named the Professional Athlete of the Year at this year's awards show, which was hosted at Cleveland's Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse, Garrett becomes the first Browns play to earn the honor since quarterback Baker Mayfield did so in 2018. The full list of previous winners of the award is as follows:

  • 2000: Manny Ramirez, Cleveland Indians
  • 2001: Jim Thome, Cleveland Indians
  • 2002: Jim Thome, Cleveland Indians
  • 2003: Ben Curtis, PGA Tour golfer
  • 2004: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2005: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2006: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2007: CC Sabathia, Cleveland Indians
  • 2008: Cliff Lee, Cleveland Indians
  • 2009: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2010: Josh Cribbs, Cleveland Browns
  • 2011: Asdrubal Cabrera, Cleveland Indians
  • 2012: Kyrie Irving, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2013: Josh Gordon, Cleveland Browns
  • 2014: Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians
  • 2015: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2016: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2017: Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians
  • 2018: Baker Mayfield, Cleveland Browns
  • 2019: Stipe Miocic, UFC Heavyweight Champion
  • 2020: Shane Bieber, pitcher, Cleveland Indians

Before You Leave, Check This Out