x
Breaking News
More () »

Guide to Cleveland Browns' 2019 Training Camp

Here is what you need to know before heading out to Berea for Cleveland Browns training camp.

CLEVELAND — Football season is here! Well, almost anyway.

First-year coach Freddie Kitchens, second-year quarterback Baker Mayfield and the Cleveland Browns are set to begin preparations for the 2019 regular season, as they get training camp underway at their Berea training facility on Thursday, July 25 with the first of 15 open practices over the next three weeks.

Here is what fans need to know ahead of the start of training camp.

BROWNS TRAINING CAMP SCHEDULE

Thursday, July 25: 10 a.m.-Noon

Friday, July 26: 10 a.m.-Noon

Saturday, July 27: 10 a.m.-Noon

Sunday, July 28: 10 a.m.-Noon

Monday, July 29: 10 a.m.-Noon

Tuesday, July 30: No practice

Wednesday, July 31: 10 a.m.-Noon

Thursday, August 1: 10 a.m.-Noon

Friday, August 2: 10 a.m.-Noon

Saturday, August 3: Orange and Brown Scrimmage, 4-6 p.m. at FirstEnergy Stadium

Sunday, August 4: No practice

Monday, August 5: 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Tuesday, August 6: 10 a.m.-Noon

Wednesday, August 7: No practice

Thursday, August 8: Preseason Week 1 vs. Washington, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, August 9: 3:45-5:25 p.m.

Saturday, August 10: 2:45-4:45 p.m.

Sunday, August 11: No practice

Monday, August 12: 10 a.m.-Noon

Tuesday, August 13: No practice

Wednesday, August 14: Practice in Westfield, Indiana with Indianapolis Colts

Thursday, August 15: Practice in Westfield, Indiana with Colts

Friday, August 16: No practice

Saturday, August 17: Preseason Week 2 at Colts, 4 p.m.

Sunday, August 18: No practice

Monday, August 19: Closed practice

Tuesday, August 20: 10 a.m.-Noon

Wednesday, August 21: 10 a.m.-Noon

Thursday, August 22: No practice

Friday, August 23: Preseason Week 3 at Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 7:30 p.m.

Credit: Matt Florjancic
Cleveland Browns wide receiver D.J. Montgomery looks a pass into his hands during a drill at OTA practice in Berea, Ohio on Wednesday, May 22, 2019.

RELATED: Training Camp Preview: Cleveland Browns relying on young tight ends to help offense

ATTENDING PRACTICE

In recent years, the Browns have featured a new layout with additional seats, which increased seating capacity to go along with the standing-room only sections at field level. The Browns have increased their seating capacity by 325 percent since 2016.

Gates open one hour prior to the listed start time.

Should practices be moved indoors due to inclement weather, they would be closed to the public because of space limitations.

Credit: Matt Florjancic
Cleveland Browns quarterback Baker Mayfield winds up to deliver a pass down the field during a drill at OTA practice in Berea, Ohio on Wednesday, May 22, 2019.

RELATED: Training Camp Preview: Cleveland Browns have talent, depth at wide receiver

SCRIMMAGE RETURNS TO CLEVELAND

The annual Orange and Brown Scrimmage is back at FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland after taking place at team headquarters in Berea last summer.

As the Browns were preparing for the 2018 season, FirstEnergy Stadium was in use for summer concerts, namely the dual show from Beyoncé and Jay-Z, but now, the “Home of the Browns” is ready to host the intra-squad game once again.

Credit: Matt Florjancic
Cleveland Browns running back Kareem Hunt hustles up the field during a drill at OTA practice in Berea, Ohio on Wednesday, May 22, 2019.

RELATED: Training Camp Preview: Cleveland Browns doing some shifting along offensive line

SUPPORTING THE COMMUNITY

Tickets to the Orange and Brown Scrimmage cost $5, and the proceeds are going to the Browns Give Back’s mission of “improving the quality of education” for Northeast Ohio students.

The proceeds from the scrimmage will benefit the Cleveland Browns Foundation’s “Get 2 School” campaign to encourage school attendance so all students can succeed, both in the classroom and in the community. Additionally, proceeds from sales at the training camp pro shop will benefit the foundation.

Also, the Browns will hold their annual First-and-Ten Blood Drive to benefit the American Red Cross on Saturday, July 27.

Credit: Matt Florjancic
Cleveland Browns kickers Greg Joseph (17) attempts a field goal during a drill at OTA practice in Berea, Ohio on Wednesday, May 22, 2019.

RELATED: Training Camp Preview: Cleveland Browns bolstered defensive line, got bookend rusher to pair with Myles Garrett

PROHIBITED ITEMS

In an effort to make sure all fans enjoy their experience at training camp, the Browns have a list of restricted items that will not be permitted at practices.

Here is a look at the prohibited items/activities:

Smoking

Weapons

Noisemakers

Animals

Aerosol cans

Laser pointers

Alcoholic beverages

Can/glass-bottled liquids

Hard plastic coolers (soft case coolers are permitted)

Camera lenses greater than four inches in length

Umbrellas, strollers, purses, fanny packs, backpacks and diaper bags are permitted, but subject to inspection, as are portable folding chairs and lawn chairs.

Credit: Matt Florjancic
Cleveland Browns coach Freddie Kitchens goes over a teaching point during a drill at OTA practice in Berea, Ohio on Wednesday, May 22, 2019.

RELATED: Camp Preview: Youth could be served in Cleveland Browns’ linebacker corps

PARKING

General parking for training camp is available at nearby Baldwin Wallace University on Beech Street, while handicap-accessible parking is available at the Berea training facility for those who have proper identification.

Fans parking at Baldwin Wallace can walk north on Beech Street, which dead-ends into the gates at the Browns’ training facility.

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out