Breaking News
More () »

Cleveland Browns legends Eric Metcalf, Josh Cribbs included on list of 173 modern-era nominees for Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2024

The list of nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November.

CANTON, Ohio — Just over a month after Cleveland Browns legend Joe Thomas was enshrined in the Class of 2023, the Pro Football Hall of Fame has released its list of modern-era nominees for its Class of 2024.

There are 173 names on the list of modern-era nominees, including several notable Cleveland Browns players. Topping the list is special teams ace Josh Cribbs, who played for the Browns from 2005-2012. Cribbs was a three-time Pro Bowler, a first-team All-Pro selection in 2009, a member of the NFL's All-Decade Team for the 2000s, and a Cleveland Browns Legends Club member. Cribbs had 11 total touchdown returns in his career, including eight kickoff returns, which was an NFL record when he retired. 

Also on the list of nominees is another former Browns special teams star, running back Eric Metcalf. Metcalf played in Cleveland from 1989-1994 as part of a 13-year NFL career. Metcalf had 12 total touchdown returns during his career, ranking third on the NFL's all-time list. He also ranks fifth in career punt return yards. The three-time Pro Bowler and two-time All-Pro selection is also a member of the Cleveland Browns Legends Club. 

Here are other former Cleveland Browns who made the list of nominees:

  • QB - Jake Delhomme
  • RB - Jamal Lewis
  • WR - Andre Rison
  • OT - Lomas Brown

There are several notable names who are on the list of nominees for the first time, including TE Antonio Gates, DL Haloti Ngata, DE Julius Peppers, WR Brandon Marshall, WR Jordy Nelson, and RB Jamaal Charles. You can see the entire list of nominees here.

The list of modern-era nominees will be trimmed down to 25 semifinalists in November. A total of 19 finalists will be presented to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee for consideration for the Class of 2024. That list will include 15 modern-era finalists, seniors finalists Randy Gradishar, Steve McMichael, and Art Powell, plus coach/contributor finalist Buddy Parker. 

Related Stories:

Before You Leave, Check This Out