Breaking News
More () »

Level 3 snow emergency activated in several counties: Roads closed to all non-emergency vehicles

If you don't have to be out on the roads, it's best just to stay home as the winter storm continues.

OHIO, USA — Be careful out there!

Dangerous travel conditions amid the winter storm have resulted in the activation of various snow emergencies throughout Northeast Ohio.

It's possible that more will be issued in different counties across the region as the winter storm evolves, so be sure to check this story throughout the day to see what's changed.


  • Erie County
  • Huron County
  • Sandusky County

Here's what this level means, according to the Erie County Sheriff's Department:

Roadways are closed to all non-emergency travel due to extremely hazardous conditions. No one should be on the roadway unless it is absolutely essential to travel. Those operating vehicles on the roadway for non-emergency reasons may be subject to arrest.

MORE: Blizzard Warning issued for some Northeast Ohio counties


  • Ashland County
  • Ashtabula County
  • Portage County
  • Richland County
  • Wayne County

Here's what this level means:

Roadways are hazardous due to blowing and drifting snow and/or ice cover. Only those who believe it is necessary to drive should be on the roadways. Contact your employer to determine if you should report to work.


  • Holmes County
  • Lorain County
  • Medina County
  • Summit County

Here's what this level means:

Roadways are hazardous due to accumulated snow or ice. Drive cautiously. 

SUBSCRIBE: Get the day's top headlines sent to your inbox each weekday morning with the free 3News to GO! newsletter

Editor's note: Video in the player above was originally published in a previous story on Dec. 22, 2022.

Before You Leave, Check This Out