The National Weather Service has issued a Wind Chill Advisory for the following Northeast Ohio counties:

  • Ashland
  • Cuyahoga
  • Erie
  • Holmes
  • Huron
  • Lorain
  • Medina
  • Richland
  • Stark
  • Summit
  • Wayne

The advisory will go into effect at 4 a.m. Thursday and will not expire until noon on Saturday. The NWS is expecting wind chills to reach as low as 15 degrees below zero on Thursday and 24 below that night and into Friday.

Residents are advised to be cautious, as these temperatures can cause frostbite to exposed skin in as little as 30 minutes, according to the NWS.