x
Breaking News
More () »

Cleveland's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Cleveland, Oh | WKYC.com

List: 15 locations opening for students who need in-person help with virtual learning throughout Northeast Ohio

The Boys and Girls Clubs of Northeast Ohio are offering in-person assistance for students who need some extra help while attending school remotely.

CLEVELAND — The Boys and Girls Clubs of Northeast Ohio is adding more ClubSmart Learning Center sites to its list of locations where students in digital-only environments can get some in-person assistance. The new locations were added due to “increased demand.”

You can see a full list of locations below. Some launch Tuesday, while others won't get started until later this month.

"In the United States, six percent of folks don't have regular access to broadband, and if you look across Northeast Ohio, that number is 23. You'll see certain neighborhoods where it's 70 [percent]," explained Jeff Scott, President & CEO of Boys & Girls Clubs of Northeast Ohio.

RELATED: Combating the Digital Divide at Boys & Girls Clubs new learning centers

Staff members at these learning centers will help children with their virtual learning, while following school curriculum.

NOTE: Officials say space is limited by building capacity and social distancing protocols.

CLEVELAND

  • Broadway Club, 6114 Broadway Ave., Cleveland. Starts Sept. 8, 8 a.m.-4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person, now. Contact: Joseph Greathouse at jgreathouse@bgcneo.org.
  • Saint Luke's Club, 2705 MLK Jr. Drive, Cleveland. Starts: Sept. 8, 8 a.m.-4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person, now. Contact: Earl Ingram at eingram@bgcneo.org.
  • King Kennedy Club, 2561 E 59th St., Cleveland. Starts: Sept. 8, 8 a.m.-4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person, now. Contact: Richard Starr at rstarr@bgcneo.org.
  • East Tech Teen Center, 2439 E 55th St. Cleveland. Starts: Sept 8, noon to 4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person, now. Contact: Anthonette Merritt at amerritt@bgcneo.org.

RELATED: Thousands of students return to classes in Northeast Ohio: Cleveland schools begin with remote learning

AKRON

  • Steve Wise Club, 889 Jonathan Ave., Akron. Starts: Sept. 10, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person, now. Contact: Sam Slovisky at sslovisky@bgcneo.org.
  • Eller Teen Center, 888 Eller Ave., Akron. Starts: Sept. 21, noon to 5 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person, now. Contact: Anthony Isom at aisom@bgcneo.org.

LORAIN COUNTY

  • Crestwood Elementary School, 42331 Griswold Road, Elyria. Starts: Sept.14, 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. weekdays. Closed Wednesdays. Registration: online at https://tinyurl.com/crestwoodbgc. Contact: Diane Crumley at dcrumley@bgcneo.org.
  • Former Vermilion Elementary School, 935 Decatur St., Vermilion. Starts: Sept. 8, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person at Board Office, 1250 Sanford St., Vermilion. Contact: Jerome Johnson at jjohnson@bgcneo.org.
  • Eastwood Elementary School, 198 E. College St., Oberlin. Starts: Sept. 8, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: Online at oberlinschools.net and click 'Boys and Girls Club Membership Application' down on left-hand side. Contact: Amy Skolnik at askolnik@bgcneo.org.
  • Desich Family Campus, 4111 Pearl Ave., Lorain. Starts: Sept. 21, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. weekdays through Sept. 10. Contact: Amy Skolnik at askolnik@bgcneo.org.
  • Westview Terrace, 2214 W. 24th St., Lorain. Starts: Sept. 21, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. weekdays at the Desich location, 4111 Pearl Ave., Lorain. Contact: Jerome Johnson at jjohnson@bgcneo.org.
  • Southside Gardens, 3010 Vine St., Lorain. Starts: Sept. 21, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. weekdays at the Desich location, 4111 Pearl Ave., Lorain. Contact: Amy Skolnik at askolnik@bgcneo.org.
  • Elyria Middle Avenue, 1821 Middle Ave., Elyria. Starts: Sept. 21, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays for youth, noon to 5 p.m. for teens. Registration: In person, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. weekdays through Sept. 10. Contact: Diane Crumley at dcrumley@bgcneo.org.

SANDUSKY

  • Osborne Elementary School, 920 W. Osborne St., Sandusky. Starts: Sept. 21, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays. Registration: Weekdays at school board office, 407 Decatur St. Sandusky from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. or at 135 E. Washington Row, in lobby, from 2-5 p.m. Contact: Jerome Johnson at jjohnson@bgcneo.org.
  • Sandusky Teen Center, 2112 Cleveland Road, Sandusky. Starts: Sept. 21, noon to 5 p.m. weekdays. Registration: In person. Contact: Jerome Johnson at jjohnson@bgcneo.org.